NFL's Walter Payton Man of the Year Award winner 2005

Appearance Requests

Requests for Mr. Dunn to appear at an event or speaking engagement may go through a variety of channels. send information about your event to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and the appropriate person will get back to you.

Running with purpose on and off the field

Warrick Dunn POY Award

The Warrick Dunn Player of the Year award is given annually to the top football player in the Baton Rouge/Northern Louisiana area. Established in 2007, the award honors not only productivity on the field, but also intangibles like good character, unselfishness and sportsmanship.

Past Winners:
2007- Blaine Gautier, QB, Lutcher (UL-Lafayette)
2008- Shane Andrus, RB, Christian Life Academy
2009- Frankie Jackson, RB, Capitol (Arkansas State)
2010- Terrence Magee, QB, Franklinton (LSU)
2011- Landon Collins, Dutchtown (Alabama)

Warrick Dunn: Awards and Appearances

Warrick speaking at Big Brothers Big Sisters Legacy Awards 2015

For over 10 years, Warrick has inspired millions through a combination of football, personal and professional stories. He continues to inspire, motivate and lead, though his field of play has grown from the football field to the corporate board room and community auditoriums.

One of the greatest obstacles he overcame was losing his mother at the age of 18. Football was the journey that lead to the realization of his mother's dream and his speaking style explores his personal setbacks and triumphs, while inspiring audiences to relate and then think about how his story can help. Warrick encourages audiences to fulfill their own dreams and reassures them that with hard work and dedication, even the toughest obstacles can be moved aside.

Warrick tells his story with the humility that made him a force on and off the football field. He is not loud or brash, but focused and attentive - and his audience never fails to connect with the essence of who he is and how he came through it all.

Humanitarian Awards

  • 2011 Jefferson Awards Outstanding Athlete in Service & Philanthropy
  • 2010 Heisman Humanitarian Award
  • 2010 11-Alive Community Service Award
  • 2009 Bank of America Local Hero
  • 2009 Bart Starr Award
  • 2008 World Sports Humanitarian Hall of Fame
  • 2008 42nd annual Byron “Whizzer” White Award recipient
  • 2008 JB Award through the NFL Player’s Association
  • 2007 Inaugural The Home Depot NFL Neighborhood MVP Award
  • 2007 Florida State University Alumni Association’s Circle of Gold
  • 2007 American Youth Football's Giving Back Pro of the Year Award
  • 2004 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year
  • 2004 Jessie Tuggle Humanitarian Award
  • 2002 Inducted into Florida State University’s Hall of Fame
  • 2003 Atlanta Falcons’ Man of the Year
  • 2003 The Henry P. Iba Citizen Athlete Award
  • 2003 The National Center on Black Philanthropy
  • 2003 The Frank Ski Kids Foundation - Athlete of the Year
  • May 5, 2003 Issue Sports Illustrated’s 101 Most Influential Minorities in Sports 
  • 2003 The Boy Scouts of America – Atlanta’s Peach of an Athlete Award
  • 1999, 2000, 2003, & 2004 Sporting News’ 75 Good Guys in Sports
  • Sporting News’ Top 100 most powerful sports personalities
Football Awards
  • Inaugural The Home Depot NFL Neighborhood MVP Award 2007
  • Inducted into FSU Alumni Association’s Circle of Gold 2007
  • American Youth Football’s Giving Back Pro of the Year Award 2007
  • 2004 Jessie Tuggle Humanitarian Award
  • Ranked #79 on Sports Illustrated’s list of 101 Most Influential Minorities in Sports
  • Three time Pro Bowl selection
  • Ranks 22nd on the NFL all-time rushing list entering the 2007 season with 9,461 yards
  • Only one of four players to have eclipsed 1,000 rushing yards in each of the past three seasons
  • One of only four Falcons players to rush for over 1,400 yards in a single season
  • Dunn’s 90- yard touchdown against the New York Giants in 2006 marked the longest in Falcon history
  • Dunn and teammate QB Michael Vick became the first running back/quarterback duo to each surpass 1,000 rushing yards in a single season, and only one of four teammates to accomplish the feat in NFL history, the last being in 1985
  • One of only five players in NFL history to have rushed for over 1,400 yards at the age of 30 or older
  • Has averaged 43 receptions per season in his 10 year career
  • Elusive, electrifying back who possesses exceptional game-breaking speed and quickness, serving as a double threat as both a runner and receiver
  • Reached the 1,000-yard rushing plateau for the third time in his career last season and just missed the mark in 2002 with 927 rushing yards
  • Tallied four 100-yard games in 2004 as he set a new career-high with nine rushing touchdowns
  • Combined for more than 1,000 yards from scrimmage in seven of eight NFL seasons
  • Moved into fifth-place on the Falcons all-time rushing charts with 2,705 yards
  • Recorded a postseason career-high with 142 rushing yards in the Falcons 47-17 NFC Divisional Playoff Game vs. St. Louis (1/15/04)
  • Ranked second on the team with a 5.4 yard average (125 carries for 672 yards) in 2003 despite missing the final five games with a foot injury
  • Set a team record for the longest touchdown run in team history with a 69-yard jaunt vs. New Orleans (10/19/03) in addition to a career-long touchdown catch of 86 yards vs. Tennessee (11/23/03)
  • Tough, gritty performer who played through painful toe and hamstring injuries in 2001 with Tampa and still produced a career-high 68 receptions (fifth-best among all NFL runners) for 557 yards and three touchdowns as he finished strong in the final five games of the season, averaging 112 rushing per contest
  • Two-time Pro Bowl selection (1997 and 2000)
  • Averaged almost 50 receptions per season in his eight-year career
  • Earned the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award in 2005 for his role off the field in the communities of Atlanta, Tampa and Baton Rouge through his "Homes for the Holidays" program.
  • 1997 NFL Rookie of Year
  • 1997, 2000 and 2005 NFL Pro Bowl
  • 1996- The Sporting News- 2nd Team All-American
  • 1996- Football news- 2nd Team All-American
  • 1996- Associated Press- 2nd Team All-American
  • 1996- Football Writers Association- 1st Team All-American
  • 1995- Associated Press- All-American- Honorable Mention
  • 1995- Football News- 3rd Team All-American
  • 1994- United Press International- All-American- Honorable Mention
  • 1993- Football News- 2nd Team Freshman All-American
  • MVP of the 1994 Sugar Bowl
  • Jersey is the first to be retired by Florida State. His number (#28) may be worn in the future by FSU players, but his jersey will always be displayed in the Moore Athletic Center along with the five previously retired numbers
  • Selected to the first team Football Writer’s All-American squad as a senior and second team Associated Press honors that same year